How can we help you today?

Visual Builder Feature: AutoRecover

When you accidentally close your browser or SharePoint ends the session abruptly while you are in the middle of editing your page, you do not have to worry about your unsaved changes. In Visual Builder, we have a feature called AutoRecover that allows you to restore unsaved changes. This means you will not lose your design progress at any point in time when your work is interrupted while editing with ShortPoint. We will show you how it works in this article.


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Prerequisites

  • You upgraded to the ShortPoint Visual Builder version SPFx 8.0.x.xx or later on Office 365 (SharePoint Online) or SharePoint 2019 environment;
  • You are a ShortPoint User with an active license.

What is AutoRecover?


While editing your SharePoint intranet page, all your design edits are stored and recorded. You are able to view these in the History Window. In any instance where your session ends, whether by choice or accident, your unsaved changes can easily be restored. You will see an automatic prompt as soon as you get back to editing your page and have the option to restore or discard the changes made in the last interrupted session. This is the AutoRecover feature in Visual Builder.


How to restore unsaved changes


ShortPoint automatically detects if you have unsaved changes from a previous editing session. Here are the few steps you can take to get back where you left off.


Step 1: Go to edit mode


On the page you were last working on, navigate back to the ShortPoint edit mode. A pop-up window automatically appears, informing you that you have unsaved changes from the previous session.


Visual Builder Edit Mode


Step 2: Click Yes when the pop-up window appears


If you want to restore unsaved changes from the last session, simply hit Yes. You can also choose the option to discard these unsaved changes if you want to proceed from the last saved version of your page.


press yes to recover unsaved changes


Step 3: Continue editing or save progress


You will find the unsaved changes applied back to your page if you choose to restore them. You can then continue editing or hit Save.


We understand that designing a page is a lot of work, and we want to make sure that you do not lose the progress you made. AutoRecover takes care of retrieving all your work when you encounter any kind of interruption. So have fun editing with ShortPoint Visual Builder.


Related articles:

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.

World's best intranet sites are designed using ShortPoint

Get started today! Learn more
See all 17 topics

Start a trial

Ignite your vision. Install ShortPoint directly on your site, or play in sandbox mode. No credit card required.

Get started today

World’s best intranet sites are designed using ShortPoint

Thousands of companies using ShortPoint everyday to design, brand and build award winning intranet sites.

Get started Learn more