How can we help you today?

ShortPoint SPFx Auto Upgrade Feature

If you already switched to ShortPoint New Upgrade, then you now have access to our Auto Upgrade feature. In this article, we will tell you it what it is in detail and what the benefits are of using this feature.   


NOTE: Find out more about the New Upgrade by visiting ShortPoint SPFx New Upgrade for Office 365 and SharePoint 2019.

TABLE OF CONTENTS


Before we begin

  • Make sure that you are on Office 365 (SharePoint Online) or SharePoint 2019 On-Premise environment.
  • Make sure that you have ShortPoint SPFx app installed on your SharePoint sites.
  • It is important that you already downloaded and installed the ShortPoint New Upgrade SPFx (7.1.5.xx+) package. If not, you may go through this Tutorial: How to Upgrade to ShortPoint SPFx 7.1.5.xx Version (New Upgrade) we have prepared for you. 

What is Auto Upgrade?


Auto Upgrade is a feature that can be enabled for ShortPoint New Upgrade. With this feature, ShortPoint will be updated automatically whenever the new version is released, with the exception for the Beta releases. You do not need to check ShortPoint Dashboard > Upgrade page to get upgraded to the latest public release if Auto Upgrade is enabled.


Once you upgraded your sites to the New Upgrade version for the first time, Auto Upgrade option will be enabled by default:


Auto Upgrade will be enabled by default


NOTE: In case you decided to use the Sandbox Mode, turn the Auto Upgrade toggle off. To know more of this feature, you may go to ShortPoint SPFx Sandbox Mode.


INFO: You may also preview any ShortPoint version using the ?sp-preview=<version> query string at the end of your URL. IF you want to know how it works, please check Preview Any ShortPoint SPFx Version on a Page Using URL Parameter.

Rollback option


Rollback option is not available for Auto Upgrade, since it is designed to keep your sites on the latest ShortPoint version: 


Rollback option is not available for Auto Upgrade


NOTE: Rollback option is only available for Sandbox Upgrade Mode.

In case you decided to roll back to the previous ShortPoint version, you need to disable the Auto Upgrade first:


Disable Auto Upgrade first


Then, you will be able to roll back to the previous public version.


Beta version is available


When the new Beta version is available, your sites will not be upgraded automatically.


You will be able to preview this version by clicking Sandbox Mode (Beta) button:


Switch to Sandbox Mode 

If you liked the Beta version and would like to upgrade to it, you need to disable the Auto Upgrade first and then click Upgrade to Beta button.


disable auto upgrade


NOTE: Once you enable the Auto Upgrade feature, it will bring you back to the latest public release. So, if you would like to stay on Beta, you need to keep Auto Upgrade off until the next public release.

FAQ


If you want to know more about this New Upgrade approach, check out these articles that we have collated for you in this Frequently Asked Questions folder. 


Related articles:

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.

World's best intranet sites are designed using ShortPoint

Get started today! Learn more
See all 13 topics

Start a trial

Ignite your vision. Install ShortPoint directly on your site, or play in sandbox mode. No credit card required.

Get started today

World’s best intranet sites are designed using ShortPoint

Thousands of companies using ShortPoint everyday to design, brand and build award winning intranet sites.

Get started Learn more